Crafting My Best Life

Although this is a crafting-focused blog, the crafting in my life obviously doesn’t happen in a vacuum. Bottom line is that I’m a mom to ten kids, eight of whom still live at home, seven of whom I’m still homeschooling. Some of these kids have major physical, cognitive and behavioral challenges. So, the majority of my time is spent parenting and homemaking, not crafting. Yet, crafting is what re-charges me to do what I have to do. So, I prioritize it.

For the past three weeks, I’ve been dealing with some especially challenging behaviors from Peter. Peter takes medication and is working with a counselor. I usually have hope that these challenges can be eventually resolved. However, he’s had these challenges his whole life, so they’re probably not going to disappear overnight.

Only other moms who deal with behaviorally challenged children can fully appreciate the way that they drain you of energy. It sometimes becomes difficult to continually pull yourself up by your bootstraps. So, I decided this week that I just needed to go ahead and do something that I believe will add to my “energy storehouse”:

I signed up for Jenny Doh’s Crafting My Best Life course.

A few weeks ago, I had seen her promotional video for the course. She is the featured speaker at Silver Bella in November, so I was perusing her blog when I found out that she was teaching this course. I so badly wanted to sign up for it. I kept the video up almost all of the time so I could watch it again. But, I knew I didn’t have it in the budget to sign up. I kept waiting for some kind of financial miracle that didn’t occur.

So…the course began and I kept trying to tell myself that it didn’t matter, that it was OK if I didn’t get to take it. Meanwhile, I’m in the throes of dealing with the super-challenging behavior from Peter and getting more and more bogged down. Finally, Friday, I decided to see if there were a possibility of joining late. There was! So, on Monday, I signed up, with a financial contribution from Jacob.

I am already getting so much out of this course. I am already encouraged and energized by the exercises. My life may be one filled with challenges and responsibilities, but I am going to craft my best life.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Laura said,

    I love you, Miss Lisa!

  2. 3

    Mary said,

    Wonderful that you still get to go! Got to recharge in order to keep serving.

    I have been taking classes at the local battery and that’s what’s keeping me going!

    Love you Lisa! Enjoy!

    • 4

      thetruevine said,

      Since it’s an online class, I’ve been able to kind of catch up with the rest of the participants. I’ve really enjoyed it so far!

  3. 5

    Kathleen said,

    My dear friend,

    I am so happy you are getting to do this. And I love your self portrait. You are so creative and it’s great you are making time for this part of yourself. I love you.

    Kathleen


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

