Birthday Giveaway

Today is my birthday. As I was growing up in Nebraska and South Dakota, I always wished for the first snow on my birthday. Then, we moved to Texas and I kind of gave up on that wish.

But, thirty years ago, something really remarkable happened: I met Joey. Oh, but we were talking about my birthday and snow, weren’t we? So, I suppose you’ve guessed that thirty years ago, on my birthday (the day after Joey’s and my third date, by the way), it snowed. In COLLEGE STATION, Texas.

IMG_1076

Now, College Station is not in northern Texas. I would not characterize it as a snowy place.

IMG_1078

But, there I was. In snow. On my birthday. With Joey.

IMG_1079

He was holding my suitcase because I was leaving to go home for Thanksgiving break. Thirty years later…

Joey, Anne ane me

…he’s not holding my suitcase, but he is holding our tenth child. And I’m not so much wishing for snow. But I’ll take it, if I can get it.

So, in celebration of my birthday, I’m doing a little giveaway. If you would like to receive one of these ornaments, leave a comment. I’ll draw names (if I have more comments than ornaments) after noon central time on Tuesday, November 30, 2010.

IMG_1080

And since Kathy Heitland Holland and Melinda Meuser both mentioned that they had noticed that I hadn’t posted recently in THIS post, I’m sending each of you an ornament!

IMG_1082

Thanks for reading my blog!

11 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Clara said,

    Comment.

  2. 2

    Marianne Fuerst said,

    Love the pictures and love the ornaments! Happy birthday!

  3. 3

    Kathy said,

    You are still as young as ever!

  4. 4

    paula said,

    Me! me! Pick me!

  5. 5

    Alissa said,

    Those are preciously cute ornaments! (not sure that preciously is a word, but who cares:))
    Happy Birthday to you!

  6. 6

    Amelia said,

    Pick me! I have my tree up.

  7. 7

    Nora said,

    Happy birthday!!! Have lots of Fun
    Nice Day today too.!

  8. 8

    Your Brother said,

    Shout out to Aston, Krueger, Dunn, Mosher!

  9. 10

    Laurie said,

    Oh, happy birthday Lisa! I’m enjoying reading your comments on my blog — so nice to have a new friend! I loved your then/now photos — how wonderful!

  10. 11

    MOM said,

    I always have room for one more ornament on my tree and it’s now up and mostly decorated!!!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

