What’s Your Style?

I’ve been thinking lately of clarifying (for myself) my crafting “style.” There are so many wonderful techniques and skills to learn. And I want to keep learning. Yet, I think I would benefit from developing a focus, a schemata on which to hang any new techniques I learn along the way.

My initial plan is to start collecting images of thematic elements that greatly appeal to me and see what I find, what ends up really “speaking” to me. I would guess that they would include fibers (embroidery, crocheting, sewing, etc.), nature (vines, flowers), Scripture…what else? It will be interesting to see if my “style” turns out to have unexpected elements….

In no way do I see this as a restricting exercise, but more of a freeing experience. Have you defined your style? Did you do it deliberately? How have you incorporated new techniques into your “style”?

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    rebecca said,

    What a fabulous way to start your new creative year. Best of luck to you!

  2. 2

    Karla Steele said,

    I have no idea what my style is…this gives me much to think about. I have so many things I like to do. I think I tend to change with the seasons, maybe I’m inspired by what’s around me.

    • 3

      thetruevine said,

      I have been casually looking on etsy for images that really, really grab me and compiling them. It’s absolutely amazing to see things I really like all gathered in one place! AND I’ve found that the more I do this, the clearer my focus is and the more ideas I’ve been having!

  3. 4

    Laurie said,

    I know, it’s hard to define yourself and, sometimes, it’s easier for me to say what I don’t like!

  4. 5

    […] A little while ago I mentioned that I was going to try to define my crafting “style” (for lack of a better term, I suppose). I perused etsy rather casually for a week or so and when an image just really jumped out at me, or I said to myself, I LOVE that, or I considered buying that item, I saved the image. I was pretty strict about my criteria for saving an image because I really, truly had to be drawn to the image. Due to my strict criteria, I only ended up with a dozen images, but seeing them all in one place has really helped me begin to refine my idea of what my “style” is. […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

