Gifts

For some time, now, God has been showing me something, teaching me something, through a series of challenging circumstances. Sometimes I catch a glimpse of what I think He is showing me, teaching me. Sometimes it is so elusive that I think I’ll never see it or learn it.

One tool that He has been using in this process is John Piper’s When I Don’t Desire God: How to Fight for Joy. Lately, through what I’m reading in this book, I think that the glimpse of what I’m being shown and taught has to do with everything, everything being a gift from God. Now, I’ve given intellectual assent to this concept for years. What it seems that God is showing and teaching me has to do with wholeheartedly experiencing and accepting that everything is a gift from Him.

So, I’ve been thinking a lot about the idea of gifts lately. I was even talking about it quite a bit yesterday as my older kids gave me the gift of their time while I talked. And, I have received some important gifts lately from my parents who are also listening, amidst their own challenges, to me.

Consequently, with “gifts” on my mind, I was delighted to receive two packages in the mail yesterday! The first was a package from Sheila. (Shelia made my fabulous charm bracelet for the Silver Bella swap and I wear it all of the time.) I was chosen as a winner in her Valentine charm giveaway! This is the adorable charm I received:

IMG_1578

Don’t you just love it?

IMG_1580

And what made it even more special was that, when I first saw it on her blog, it reminded me of this:

IMG_1568

This is the first ring that Joey ever gave me.

IMG_1574

He bought it at James Avery the summer of 1981. We hadn’t seen each other for quite awhile because he had been hiking for two weeks in the middle of nowhere and I had been serving as a Fish Camp Counselor. When I got back to the A&M campus, he was there to pick me up and he surprised me with this ring. I wore it on my left ring finger until he replaced it with my wedding ring a year later. What a special gift!

IMG_1577

It seems that yesterday, God was reinforcing the glimpse that what He is showing me, teaching me has to do with His gifts.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Rachel Fama said,

    How truly special to see how God is showing Himself to you! I was encouraged by your blog. I think of you often and keep you in my prayers. How neat that what you thought was a glimpse of what God is teaching you was reinforced by the gifts of others! Have a blessed weekend my dear friend!

    Rachel

  2. 2

    Joey said,

    What more can I say, than I Love you, my silver heart.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

