Windows to My World Art Journaling: A Few Pages

I’ve been making a huge effort amidst all of Real Life to keep up with my online art journaling class. That’s one reason I signed up: so I would make sure to do some art on a regular basis no matter what else was going on. The class is winding down, so I thought I’d share a few of my layouts here. Believe me, I do this with fear and trepidation because I do NOT consider myself a “paper artist.” That’s another reason that I signed up for this class: so I would learn new art skills using paper.

But, because I am inexperienced in this area, I had a huge learning curve. And I think that is reflected in my pages. At first I thought I would just keep these to myself, but then Teresa wrote this on our last class post:

Every page in your journal does not need to be beautiful or particularly eventful.

It is okay to love some pages more than others, and to be proud of some pages, and also not so proud of other pages.

For me, the joy is in the creating. The outcome from the “creating” is merely a bonus.

This doesn’t mean you don’t need to try to do great things in your journal…it just frees you from perfectionitis!

Remember it’s the process.

If you love the process, and how you feel in the moments you are creating journal pages, you are succeeding!

Let this creative spirit carry you throughout the day, and until you can create another journal page. This is such a beautiful thing!

That really meant a lot to me and gave me the courage to share some of my work here on the blog. So…here goes.

I decided that the general theme of my journal was “hope.”

IMG_1841

I like the clean simplicity of this layout.

IMG_1842

And I liked combining fabric and paper with text.

Sharing the next few pages involves bravery…so stay tuned.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    MOM said,

    Well done. Keep creating!

  2. 2

    thetruevine said,

    Anything, and I mean anything, you create is beautiful!

  3. 3

    Joey said,

    Okay, let’s try this again…your creations, all of them, are beautiful!

  4. 4

    Cami Rodgers said,

    Nice job, Lisa.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

