Windows to My World Art Journaling: Yes, More Pages

One important aspect of this art journaling class for me was using what I had on hand and not purchasing anything for the class. Now, if you remember my comment the other day about how I do NOT consider myself a paper artist, you might wonder what I would have on hand for this class. Thankfully, Amelia and Clara have quite a stash of scrapbooking papers that still reside at my house…so that is what I used.

However, this particular spread called for something that I did not have that made the page look as though it had a window on it. The window component of the page was rather important since we were prompted to pretend that we were looking at ourselves through a window and writing about the person we saw. So, I tried to create a similar component with what I had.

IMG_1848

I also decided with this spread that I was going to use Scripture for most of my text throughout.

IMG_1849

And here is a closer view of my make-shift window.

IMG_1850

What I would change about this spread:

– gluing the base papers down more securely, again, so they don’t buckle;

– fashioning the “window” to appear more window-like and less make-shift;

What I like about this spread:

– the colors;

– the creation of the leaves, flowers and grapes with the acrylic paint;

– the speckling;

– the text and the fonts.

At first, I was planning to share only a few of my pages, but I am benefiting from evaluating these pages as I blog about them, so I think I’ll keep sharing them. It’s helpful to me to make a comprehensive evaluation of what I’ve learned in the class as I look at the pages. It helps me see what techniques I would use again and how they fit into my “style.”

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Linda Jo said,

    Beautiful journal!!!! Thanks for commenting on my blog! And Whoop!!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

