Little Books

A little while ago, Michelle hosted a Little Book Swap and I got to participate! I really spent a lot of time thinking about my Little Book. I wanted it to reflect what I have been contemplating and learning lately. So…

littlebook 005

my Little Book was called The Gardener and featured a poem I wrote:

In the frosty heart of winter,
Bleak and dead and cold,
The Gardener begins to prune
With knowing strokes and bold.

So that in Spring tendrils appear
And soon new branches grow.
The vines extend, develop, spread.
Then buds and flowers show.

At last, once-pruned branches flourish
To abundantly bear
Sweet fruit the Gardener harvests
With tender, loving care.

(copyright 2011, Lisa Hajda)

I also wanted my Little Book to reflect the media I enjoy the most, so I used felt, embroidery floss, crayon and paper to illustrate it. Before it was folded into its cute little self, the book looked like this:

littlebook 003

Amelia had the grand idea of adding a bunch of glittered felt grapes to the wrapped up books. She’s so clever.

littlebook 006

I sent off a bunch of them to Michelle and eagerly awaited all of the Little Books I would receive from her.

littlebook 004

It was a like Christmas opening up the package!

IMG_2252

Michelle had thought of everything.

IMG_2253

IMG_2254

IMG_2255

I took my time opening each Little Book’s packaging. Hope’s was the first package I opened. And, at first, I thought, “What a BIG Little Book.” Ha! The Little Book was inside.

IMG_2257

Along with Journaling Supplies!

IMG_2258

Rachel’s book was next, with a sweet birthday theme.

IMG_2260

I “recognized” the packaging on the next book.

IMG_2261

I knew it had to be Lynn’s! (And we’ve been Jazzercising to that song lately, too.)

IMG_2263

Wanda contributed TWO books.

IMG_2266

Ilene’s was next.

IMG_2267

Then Michelle’s Little Book.

IMG_2269

Next came Wendy’s book.

IMG_2271

Jill’s Little Book featured Ralph Waldo Emerson.

IMG_2273

I recognized Laurie’s “style,” too, when I saw her book. Isn’t it fun to be able to recognize your friends’ work?

IMG_2275

Speaking of recognizing friends…I knew I had seen this before.

IMG_2276

Yep, it was Karla’s.

IMG_2277

Julie’s “Journey” was next.

IMG_2279

“She Knew” was by Cristina.

IMG_2281

Terri’s contribution was next.

IMG_2282

And Cassie’s.

IMG_2283

I have to admit, after watching the royal wedding this summer, I got a kick out of Maureen’s book.

IMG_2284

Julie’s book had a sweet Christmas theme.

IMG_2286

I love hearts, so Jessica’s cover really caught my eye.

IMG_2288

Catherine’s book came out of the package next.

IMG_2290

Stephanie’s book was “Old Fashioned Elegance.”

IMG_2292

Up next…Terri’s.

IMG_2293

Then Cassondra’s.

IMG_2295

And Heather’s.

IMG_2297

Marlene created this Little Book.

IMG_2300

And last, but not least, Stevie’s Little Book.

IMG_2301

Thanks, again, Michelle, for hosting this fun, fun swap. So much inspiration. So much fun!

IMG_2303

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    MOM said,

    What a fun idea and so many original designs! Love yours.

  2. 2

    Just the sweetest little book you have made Lisa! Thank you for sharing these. So inspiring!! Hope you are having a good Summer. Sending Love!

  3. 3

    Visiting via blog party and enjoying your creative blog; especially this post. The books are fabulous and enjoyed seeing them.

  4. 4

    Terri said,

    Loved your little book and your poem, Lisa! Wasn’t this a fun swap? Your craft room looks great, too!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

