Some Recent Art

Despite–or, maybe, because of–being in survival mode, I’ve had the opportunity to complete some art the last few days. First, I got to participate in a quick, fun Artist Trading Card swap hosted by the lovely Lauren. I got to send an ATC to Karen.

IMG_2666

IMG_2667

Because I like the Bible, calligraphy, crayon and embroidery, that’s what I used to make my card. Plus, I added some glitter. Clara had the brilliant idea of using the pattern of a tin ceiling tile as the inspiration for my design.

IMG_2665

The card I received in the swap is from Lauren.

IMG_2692

It totally made me smile.

IMG_2693

The next piece of “art” I completed was something I had on my “to-do” list for several weeks. It is a thank-you card to my dad. It’s nothing special to see. It’s not very beautiful or artistic.

IMG_2679

It’s not even intended for public viewing. In fact, it is, by its nature, quite personal. So I hesitated to put it on my blog.

IMG_2680

But I hoped that if I included it here, someone might be inspired to write a big thank-you card to someone in his or her life. Before it is too late.

IMG_2685

Then, I actually completed my first SheArt piece! Oh, my! I was so thrilled!

IMG_2686

I have been waiting and waiting to use the ideas I learned in Christy Tomlinson’s class. (Which, btw, I highly recommend…take it if you have the least inclination!)

IMG_2687

Everything she presented in the course was so foreign to me–from the layers and texturing to the quick pace. I mean, to think that I completed this in about an hour blows my mind.

IMG_2689

It’s almost like stream-of-consciousness art.

IMG_2690

I was determined to use every basic technique she taught in this first piece I attempted. I used paper, acrylics, spray washes, stamps, stencils, rub-ons. You name it.

IMG_2691

And I love, love, LOVE the finished product. I mean, I LOVE it. I could not be more satisfied with it.

IMG_2686

Now, I’m working on some ideas for more SheArt. Stay tuned!

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Joey said,

    All beautiful, like you! You know, I’m too hungry to be reading stuff like this…

  2. 2

    Karen Williams said,

    Thanks again for the ATC! Also, your Thank you note to your Dad is INSPIRING!!! ~ Karen Williams

  3. 3

    I loved seeing your art Lisa!! The She Art is aaaaaadorable….and I know why! She looks like YOU! XO God bless your Summer!

  4. 4

    Tessa said,

    Your thank you card is so heartfelt. I love it.

    And, whoa, the She Art is awesome!

  5. 5

    cassie said,

    the way you share your faith is so inspiring! l.o.v.e. the atc your made! such great texture!! And your other piece – your sheart piece – Awesome! I’ve seen many around blogland and this one is definitely one of my TOP FAVS!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

