Mixed Media Calligraphy

I had an inspirational time this past Christmas since I was creating gifts with what I had on hand. I calligraphed favorite Bible verses for the older kids (and Joey) on a wide variety of backgrounds that happened to be hanging around my craft room. For example, I made this for Amelia and Stephen:

IMG_3304

I loved using the techniques I learned in Christy Tomlinson’s online SheArt workshop I completed last year.

IMG_3307

The canvas for this piece started out as a very ugly still life oil painting that I bought for 75 cents at a thrift store. With some scrapbook papers, stencils, acrylic paints, mod podge and gesso, I was able to get a background that (I think) perfectly reflects the decorative scheme of Amelia and Steve’s house.

IMG_3306

I then used acrylic paint to form the lettering (Proto-gothic miniscule and Gothic capitals, for those who love fonts as much as I do). I had never painted lettering quite like that before, but I would do it again because I like the way it turned out.

IMG_3305

I used a similar mixed media technique for Jacob’s gift’s background.

IMG_3320

But his started out as a dry-erase board paired up with a cork board (that Joey had bought at the semi-annual hospital rummage sale). I just took the dry-erase board out of the frame and flipped it over to have a more porous surface on which to work.

IMG_3318

I didn’t paint the letters, though, I actually got out my good old calligraphy pen to form the (Art nouveau) letters.

IMG_3321

I might need to seal this eventually, but I was happy with it, too.

IMG_3319

It was a fun challenge to transform these surfaces and experiment with calligraphy again. The other pieces that I completed using mixed media were much smaller that these two. I’ll stick some of them in a second post…so, as usual, stay tuned.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Cool! I am trying to get into this as I saw alot of it at CHA. I saw Sheart by Chris and loved it.

  2. 2

    MOM said,

    Those are fantastic, Lisa. What great gifts.

  3. 3

    […] As promised, here are some more of the mixed media calligraphed Christmas gifts I gave to Joey and the older kids. These were on a significantly smaller scale than the two I previously posted. I used the same scrapbook papers, stencils, acrylic paints, inks and stamps and rub-ons (oops, I think I forgot to mention those last three in the previous post), etc. that I used in the larger pieces. First, Tim’s: […]

  4. 4

    I would love to learn more about calligraphy…it’s art + words – what could be better??


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

