Mixed Media Calligraphy, Part 2

As promised, here are some more of the mixed media calligraphed Christmas gifts I gave to Joey and the older kids. These were on a significantly smaller scale than the two I previously posted. I used the same scrapbook papers, stencils, acrylic paints, inks and stamps and rub-ons (oops, I think I forgot to mention those last three in the previous post), etc. that I used in the larger pieces. First, Tim’s:

IMG_3331

I calligraphed his verse with my calligraphy pen in Roman miniscule and capital letters.

IMG_3329

One serendipitous event was discovering (while I was trying to “tone down” the yellow in Amelia and Stephen’s piece) that gesso and acrylic paint mixed and applied thinly gave a texture with a nice “bite” for calligraphing. Otherwise the mod podge I used for creating the backgrounds would have been too slick for my calligraphy ink. I needed that texture for Margaret’s:

IMG_3326

This piece is calligraphed in Uncial (which, as you probably know, was the script of the early Christian texts–cool, eh?). I probably need to be sealing this one soon, too.

IMG_3327

Okay, this one is Eleanor’s:

IMG_3324

It is calligraphed in Copperplate (English roundhand) which I adore as a font.

IMG_3323

I’ll save Joey’s and Peter’s for another post. PLUS, Clara and Levi’s was a different technique…oh, the suspense.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    MOM said,

    Another fabulous display of your talent and I’m sure that everyone was happy to receive their gifts!

  2. 2

    Kylie said,

    These are great, Lisa! I love them all. Stephen and Amelia’s definitely fits their house!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

