In Appreciation of the Internet

When I am feeling exhaustingly isolated and alone in so many areas of my life, oh, how I love to read posts like THIS ONE over at study in brown. It is so encouraging to at least occasionally see a fellow Christian quoting John Holt because it was reading John Holt’s Teach Your Own (almost 25 years ago, now) that absolutely convinced me to homeschool our children.

I have lived this philosophy of learning for almost a quarter of a century. I have seen the delicious, exciting fruit that results from it. But I have lived it virtually alone. While I would not deviate from encouraging and facilitating this type of learning, I have been lonely at times. It is SO exciting to watch children grow and learn this way that it is sometimes difficult for me not to have an accessible peer group with whom to rejoice.

So, I thank God for the internet today and being encouraged by Tonia’s post.

Leave a Reply

