Take a Stitch Tuesday: Running Stitch

I felt like I was running a bit this week trying to complete my TAST challenge. But, here it is!

First, I just used a Double Running Stitch (or Holbein).

IMG_3647

Then, I ventured off into Double Darning Stitch and a bit of Whipped Running Stitch and Interlaced Running Stitch.

IMG_3648

This close-up of some of my Double Darning shows why I should not attempt this stitch on felt (vs. an even weave fabric), in a dimly lit room while watching “Secondhand Lions.” I had to really concentrate to finally get my rows of stitches to line up directly below the row above.

IMG_3650

However, the Whipping Running Stitch and Interlaced Running Stitch didn’t provide so great a challenge as the Double Darning did. I embroidered them while watching “Pride and Prejudice” and they came out just fine.

IMG_3651

Finally, I attempted Double Darning again–this time with a bricked effect. I paid a lot of attention to keeping my stitches even and straight and I was a lot more content with the outcome.

IMG_3649

IMG_3654

IMG_3653

IMG_3655

And…progress so far:

IMG_3658

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    This is so pretty!! I love how you experimented with all the running stitches.

  2. 2

    These are all so amazing!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

