Take a Stitch Tuesday: Satin Stitch

This week’s TAST challenge: Satin Stitch. (And, by the way, I’ve tried about a dozen times to link to Pintangle right here like I always do, but it won’t link. Plus, I just remembered that all of the links on my other TAST challenges will have to be fixed because they are now dead since Pintangle has a new site. ANYway…moving on.) [Edit: Yea! I got the link to TAST to work.]

First, I did a padded Satin Stitch in variegated gold. I really liked the way the variegation came through.

IMG_0294

IMG_0295

IMG_0296

Then, I did Long and Short Satin Stitch and I was pleased with the variegation on this word, too.

IMG_0297

IMG_0298

IMG_0300

Next, I used a Satin Stitch to differentiate components on this font.

IMG_0301

IMG_0302

IMG_0303

Fianlly, I used a Satin Stitch with variegated thread, again. This time, I’m not so much digging the way the variegation came out. Since I never really plan ahead on this project (as in, I always just quickly sketch in the letters and then grab the thread as I go along), I’m always surprised at how it turns out. Most of the time, I’m happily surprised. Sometimes, not as much.

IMG_0304

IMG_0305

IMG_0306

Progress so far:

IMG_0308

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Arlene said,

    Your work is fabulous! I can’t imagine how long it must have taken you to do it.

  2. 2

    sharonb said,

    link worked fine! Just thought I would let you know so it does not cause frustration

  3. 3

    Rose said,

    This is wonderful! I’m so glad I came to take a look!

  4. 4

    Queeniepatch said,

    I love to see how your work is growing. This is a most beautiful sampler and I admire you for your talent. You seem to have a natural instinct for what will look good; ‘just quickly sketch in the letters and then grab the thread as I go along’. I need to plan my work.
    I am looking forward to next Tuesday’s stitch.

  5. 5

    Raphaela said,

    What an amazing work! Love your lettering with stitches very much. I am always surprised by the variation with which you come up.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

