The Happy Day Project #6: Surprise Someone

Hehehe. I had fun with Alicia’s (over at La Famille) challenge this week. At first, I had so many surprises in mind for so many people that I had to narrow it down.

And Joey was the recipient of my surprise.

Because we are fledgling business owners, we have a very limited (aka as NO) eating-out budget. For date nights, we often make omelets or nachos. Or, if we are really going wild, we use some of the grocery budget to go to Subway. So, I decided to try to scrounge up some money to treat him to supper.

And this was the perfect week for the surprise because this week on date-night Friday we had had a big order at our fledgling business: cake for 400 people.

IMG_0430

By the time we were finished frosting and decorating eight large cakes, I knew that Joey just wanted to step away from any more food preparation, so I sprang my surprise. I asked him what he wanted for supper and he said, “A big chicken fried steak.” I said, “Okay. Go order it.” He laughingly said, “Are you paying?” And I laughingly said, “Yep.”

That’s when I knew I had really surprised him. He mockingly staggered back, holding his heart. Hehehe.

IMG_0439

Doesn’t he look surprised?

IMG_0441

Hopefully, this meal won’t have him clutching his heart for real in the future.

IMG_0442

We are obviously easily surprised–and amused. Now, I’m going to figure out how to execute some of my other surprises. Hehehe.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    MOM said,

    He was really surprised. Way to go, Lisa. Your cakes looked so pretty.

  2. 2

    this is fantastic!
    i love how you blessed him with this surprise. 🙂
    happy day! 🙂

  3. 3

    Barbara said,

    That was just the sweetest thing, my hubby would have loved it, food is always the way to his heart.
    Have a great day!

  4. 4

    Boris Jean said,

    Both parts of this make me say “yum”! A bit of fun after all that work is a lovely payoff

  5. 5

    Tessa said,

    Oh, this was awesome. What a great smile in that last picture. So much love in your family! 🙂

  6. 6

    awwwww, that’s perfect! i love it! so glad you got a good surprise for your hubby. thanks for linking up!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

