Happy Day Project #11: Do a Pin

Alicia over at la Famille issued this challenge: do one of your thousands of pins. Oh, yeah. I love that kind of challenge.

My first inclination was to try to complete one of the t-shirt upcycling ideas that I had pinned. Alas. I’m usually pretty strict with myself about NOT pinning anything until I’ve confirmed that the link is actually a tutorial and not just a bunch of photos. Apparently when I am pinning t-shirt ideas, I am not that strict. And while I might enjoy the pure photographic inspirations, this week I needed something concrete since I truly did not have time to re-invent the wheel (or shirring, as the case may be).

So, I went with a wall hanging idea. I pinned THIS, but I produced this:

IMG_0667

Pretty much they look nothing alike. It’s the technique that counts!

IMG_0669

(Yes, that Mod Podge is still drying….)

IMG_0670

I actually really, really like this and it goes perfectly with my other heart wall-hangings in our bedroom. Plus, it took me about 15 minutes since I had everything on-hand. And now I have another bit of the living Word up on my wall, thanks to the Happy Day Project challenge this week!

(I also did another “bonus” pin:

IMG_0671

What is that, you ask? It is a folded plastic bag! Isn’t that the grooviest way to carry around a plastic grocery sack in your car or purse? Or are Eleanor and I the only ones who get a big kick out of this? It’s kind of addictive folding them, too. Weirdly satisfying. Check out the how-tos HERE.)

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Joey said,

    Cool hearts. Cool folded bag. Okay, cool, groovy folded bag! Love ya.

  2. 2

    Sara said,

    I pinned the folded grocery bags too!! Really want to give them a try. Think they’d be great for carrying around as emergency doggie bags. 🙂 And just SO COOL!

  3. 3

    folded grocery bags?! that’s so cool! love your project…it turned out great!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

