Archive for April 16, 2012

Needlebook Swap: My Contribution

My friend, Laurie, hosted a needlebook swap. Now, I like needlebooks and I like swapping and I like the thought of a lot of embroidery on a swap project. So, why was I so conflicted about participating that I joined the swap at the last possible moment? Well, Take a Stitch Tuesday had been occupying a lot of my time every week and I didn’t want to let anyone down by not having enough time to fully participate in the swap. THEN, we unexpectedly had a week’s break from TAST and I jumped on my chance to make a needlebook for someone.

I knew that getting this project done in a week (because I’m still a homeschooling, homemaking, etc., etc., etc. mom all week, every week, too) would require some concentration and immediate action. I was so happy to quickly find Goosie Girl’s heart-shaped needlebook pattern. Eeps! I was overwhelmed by the overall awesomeness of this pattern. Then, I set to work. I cannot even describe how delightful it was to make this needlebook. I enjoyed everything from the wool felt to the heart-shaped awesomeness to the functionality to the jewel-tone colors to the opportunity to embroider my little heart out. I had a hard time parting with it, to tell the truth. SO…I took a ton of photos so I could re-create one someday for myself. And I mean a ton of photos. Get ready.

This is the inside, unfolded.

IMG_0249

IMG_0251

Aren’t these pockets so sweet?

IMG_0253

IMG_0254

IMG_0255

IMG_0257

IMG_0258

IMG_0259

IMG_0260

IMG_0261

IMG_0262

IMG_0264

IMG_0265

IMG_0266

IMG_0267

IMG_0269

This is backside of all of that…unfolded.

IMG_0271

IMG_0272

IMG_0273

IMG_0275

IMG_0276

Connecting stitches held the panels together.

IMG_0279

All folded up, tied shut and ready to go.

IMG_0280

IMG_0281

IMG_0282

I hope Kim enjoys it!

IMG_0284

Comments (7) »