Archive for June 4, 2012

Art Night Line Drawings

Carla Sonheim’s Drawing Lab for Mixed-Media Artists: 52 Creative Exercises to Make Drawing Fun prompted us to make drawings using ONE line…choosing from a list of subject prompts (hence, the toilets). At first, I was making my drawings too elaborate. The goal was to take the viewer’s eye through the drawing following the one line, so I tried to simplify.

IMG_0688

IMG_0689

IMG_0690

IMG_0691

IMG_0693

IMG_0694

IMG_0695

IMG_0696

Leave a comment »

Take a Stitch Tuesday: Knotted Cretan Stitch

TAST this 22nd week featured the Knotted Cretan Stitch. Hmm. What do I want to say about this week’s challenge. It was a challenge? I participate in this embroidery stitch challenge for fun. And to learn new stitches. This week was heavy on the “learning” and not so much on the “fun.” I had real difficulty interpreting the instructions for this stitch…and I do not usually have that problem. I had substantially limited time, so the added frustration of having to take time to figure out how to complete this stitch was not especially welcome.

BUT, I persevered!

IMG_0708

IMG_0709

IMG_0710

IMG_0712

IMG_0713

And the project, so far:

IMG_0715

Comments (3) »